The countdown has begun in preparation for the 2013 World Car Awards winners’ press conference hosted by the New York International Auto Show on Thursday, March 28, 2013.
The 2013 World Car of the Year, World Performance Car, World Green Car and World Car Design of the Year will all be declared at this time.
The top three finalists in all award categories will be announced at the Geneva International Motor Show on Tuesday, March 5th, 2013.

A jury of sixty-six (66) international automotive journalists selected the following top ten finalists in both categories by secret ballot, based on their experience with each candidate as part of their professional work. The jury members constitute a balance of representation from Asia, Europe and the U.K., North America, Russia, as well as other parts of the world.
The 2013 World Car of the Year will be selected from the following top ten cars listed in alphabetical order:
Audi A3
Land Rover Range Rover

SEE ALSO:  Video. Watch the new Volkswagen Golf R using its drift mode

Mazda CX-5

Mercedes-Benz A-Class

Peugeot 208

Porsche Boxster/Cayman
Scion FR-S/Subaru BRZ/Toyota GT 86/Toyota 86

Volkswagen Golf

Volvo V40
The 2013 World Performance Car will be chosen from one of these top finalists:

Aston Martin Vanquish

Audi RS5

BMW M6 Coupe/Convertible

BMW M135i

Ferrari F12 Berlinetta

Mercedes-Benz SL63 AMG

Mercedes-Benz SLS AMG Roadster

Porsche Boxster/Cayman

Renault Clio Sport

Scion FR-S/Subaru BRZ/Toyota GT 86
The jurors’ next step is to re-evaluate the top ten cars in both classes, in preparation for a final round of voting in February. They will specifically rate each vehicle in terms of overall merit, value, safety, environmental responsibility, emotional appeal, and significance.
The top three finalists in both categories will be announced at the Geneva International Motor Show on March 5th during a press conference.
Previous World Car of the Year winners were the Volkswagen Up! in 2012, the Nissan LEAF in 2011, the Volkswagen Polo in 2010, the Volkswagen Golf in 2009, the Mazda2/Mazda Demio in 2008, the Lexus LS460 in 2007, the BMW 3-Series in 2006, and the Audi A6 in 2005.

Previous World Performance Car winners were the Porsche 911 in 2012, the Ferrari 458 Italia in 2011, the Audi R8 V10 in 2010, the Nissan GT-R in 2009, the Audi R8 in 2008, the Audi RS4 in 2007 and the Porsche Cayman S in 2006.
The 2013 World Green Car category is handled differently. The finalists for 2013 are:
Renault Zoe
smart Electric Drive
Tesla Model S
Volkswagen Jetta Hybrid
Volvo V60 Plug-in Hybrid Diesel