At a press conference hosted by the New York International Auto
Show and Bridgestone Corporation, the Volkswagen Golf was
declared the 2013 World Car of the Year.

This is the second consecutive year that Volkswagen has won the
prestigious World Car of the Year title and the fourth time since
2009. The Volkswagen Up! won in 2012, the Volkswagen Polo in
2010, and the Volkswagen Golf VI in 2009.

The Volkswagen Golf was chosen from an initial entry list of
forty-two new vehicles from all over the world, then a short list
of ten, then four finalists: the Mercedes-Benz A-Class, the
Porsche Boxster/Cayman, the combined entry Scion FR-S/Subaru
BRZ/Toyota 86/GT 86, and the Volkswagen Golf.

To be eligible for the overall World Car award, the candidates
must become available for sale on at least two continents during
the period beginning January 1, 2012 and ending May 30, 2013.
Vehicles are selected and voted on by an international jury panel
comprised of sixty-six (66) top-level automotive journalists from
twenty-three (23) countries around the world.

Previous World Car of the Year winners were the Volkswagen Up! in
2012, the Nissan Leaf in 2011, the Volkswagen Polo in 2010,
Volkswagen Golf in 2009, the Mazda2/Mazda Demio in 2008, the
Lexus LS460 in 2007, the BMW 3-Series in 2006, and the Audi A6 in

Source: Volkswagen