Stephane Peterhansel and co-driver Jean-Paul Cottret have won the Dakar Rally 2013 in a MINI ALL4 Racing in a repeat of last year’s success. With their overall time of 38:32.39, the lead pairing of the privately-entered Monster Energy X-raid Team from Trebur, Germany crossed the finish line in Santiago de Chile 42:22 minutes ahead of their nearest pursuers in the overall classification.
With 14 stages in Peru, Argentina and Chile contested, they won the prestigious event with a 44:42-minute lead over Giniel de Villiers.
For Peterhansel, his second victory in the MINI ALL4 Racing was also the 11th of his career in the Dakar. 
Peterhansel took over at the top of the overall classification after only two stages – and defended his lead all the way to the finish. The chasing pack included the pairing of Leonid Novitskiy and Konstantin Zhiltsov in another MINI ALL4 Racing, who eventually finished the Dakar Rally 2013 in third place.
Seéphane Peterhansel joined Team X-raid following the 2009 Dakar Rally. At that point in time, the Dakar record winner already had six Dakar wins on the motorbike (1991, 1992, 1993, 1995, 1997, 1998) and three on four wheels (2004, 2005, 2007) under his belt. And now, together with the Monster Energy X-raid Team und at the wheel of the MINI ALL4 Racing, he added another two wins to his record.

1 S. Peterhansel / J.-P. Cottret MINI ALL4 Racing 38h 32m 39s
3 L. Novitskiy / K. Zhiltsov MINI ALL4 Racing 40h 01m 01s
4 N. Roma / M. Périn MINI ALL4 Racing 40h 09m 22s
12 B. Garafulic / G. Picard MINI ALL4 Racing 43h 18m 59s
48 S. Schott / H. Schmidt MINI ALL4 Racing 61h 08m 16s

SEE ALSO:  Mini Urbanaut Concept revealed


Source: Mini